[2022-02-08] End-of-radiation bell

Today, I rang a bell to signify the end of my 25 radiation treatments.

I've been breaking out in ear-to-ear grins all day, including as I was writing this post. My elation began when I entered the Irving Greenberg Family Cancer Centre. Patricia and Earl were there to greet me, as usual, and offered congratulations as I announced that today was my final day for radiation.

Then it was off to the radiation unit where therapists Dawn and Rae-Anne were all smiles, happy that I had reached this milestone.

After my treatment, I went to the front desk of the radiation therapy unit where they keep the bell. Nurse Hilary came out to greet me, as she often does. I asked her whether she would join me in my photo, as I wasn't sure of the protocol. She agreed without hesitation, suggesting that we stand beneath the Radiation Therapy sign. In the photo, you can see my huge smile even though I'm wearing a mask: it's evident in my eyes. You can also see the happiness in Hilary's thumbs-up.

After we took the photo, Hilary asked whether I was actually going to ring the bell, as I had simply been holding it. So I gave it a cheerful ring. Hilary and the receptionist applauded, as did the patients and visitors who were seated in the waiting area. It brought tears to my eyes. "I didn't think I would get emotional," I said to Hilary. But I did, and she understood.

As I was leaving the Cancer Centre, Patricia picked up two bells from her reception desk and rang them heartily. Earl stuck his head around the corner. Their delight in my accomplishment brought me joy.

Last night, a friend shared a tweet by FedEx President Lisa Lisson that is fitting for this moment in my life:

Something I’ve learned is that you have to take moments everyday to pause & be proud of yourself. To focus on the things you’ve done well. To focus on all of the things you’ve overcome & conquered in your life so far. Focusing on the good always brings more of the good into focus.

I am proud that I chose to undergo radiation therapy (I could have opted for a wait-and-see approach instead). I am proud that I have endured these treatments and the prior surgery while continuing to contribute to my family and online community. I am proud that I decided to share details about this latest path in my cancer journey, as I am certain that it is helping others. I am proud that, even though my life is dominated by medical matters, I continue to follow up on other aspects of my health, for example, booking a physical with my doctor as well as scheduling my next mammogram and breast MRI. I am proud that I rang the bell twice in my life: once for chemotherapy and once for radiation. (May it be the last time.)

25 down, 0 to go.