[2020-08-08] Life goes on

One of my favourite things to do is to sit on my back deck listening to music with my daughter. Mel is a fount of knowledge on music. She also has an incredible ear and an impressive memory. So if we're listening to one song, she'll say, "Oh, we should listen to this song next because it's very similar musically."


Last night, we listened to Alanis Morissette's new album Such Pretty Forks in the Road. It was a very easy listen, perfect for a warm, summer evening.

And then this morning, I read an article about how Alanis' performance of "Ablaze" on Jimmy Fallon was going viral, and rightly so. She sings the entire song while holding her four-year-old daughter. First, props for the physicality needed to hold a child and sing. Second, kudos to Alanis for making her daughter a part of her performance--such a natural moment between mother and daughter that we are privileged to witness.

It's a beautiful reminder of the many dimensions that make up any life. We are performers, caregivers and jugglers. We play many roles in a day and in a life. While we are often defined by just one role—our job, for example—we are always more.

The same can be said of illness. Though fighting cancer will inevitably be a big part of my life in the weeks and months ahead, I hope to focus on other things at the same time. Being a wife to my husband, a mom to my kids, a daughter to my mom, a sister to my sister and brothers, an aunt to my nieces and nephews, a cheerleader to colleagues, and a mentor to young professionals.

In the spirit of continuing to live a multidimensional life, I welcome all stories, jokes and requests for help.

As inspiration, I'll share a cute story. The other day, the young boy who lives next door was in his backyard. I called out to him and said, "Hey, Seth, guess what I did right here in my back yard the other day?"

"What?"

"I married Chris."

"You married your dad?"

OK, I know that Chris looks older than I do; he is, after all, 11 years my senior, but that was too funny.

Life's little moments are precious.

Photo courtesy of the Ottawa Citizen (Ottawa-born Alanis Morissette juggles work, motherhood in viral Jimmy Fallon video)