[2020-08-10] A beautiful struggle

Today, I read and answered more than 50 emails--mostly from employees and colleagues--sending me best wishes for a speedy recovery and congratulations on my marriage.

Most people expressed hope and optimism for a return to health ("You are strong and you have a huge crowd of people cheering you on"). Some were more personal, sharing their own challenges with cancer ("life is a beautiful struggle") and triumphs ("I honestly never felt as protected by love as when I had cancer"). Others were downright funny ("the only thing I’ve ever disagreed with you about is regarding your philosophy on Oxford commas").

I appreciate all of them. Every message is a morale booster. Every piece of advice is a welcome suggestion that I'll tuck away until needed. Every joke is a reminder that even in the face of something like cancer, we can laugh. And every story where the battle was lost is a cautionary tale to not take life for granted.

I leave you with two beautiful messages that I received today and yesterday. May you be well.