[2020-08-11] Exercise

My doctor advised me to stay fit and keep exercising.

I've always loved walking, so that's my exercise of choice.

Since starting my health leave last week, I've gotten at least 10,000 steps every day.

That was challenging when I was working full time. Even getting up at 6:00 a.m. to sneak in a 40-minute walk before my workday began was nowhere near enough time to hit 10,000 steps a day.

But since my full-time job is doing everything I can to heal myself, I have the time, and I'm making the effort.

I know that there will be days ahead when it may be a struggle to get in any steps. But until then, I'll keep moving and work my way back to my daily step goal when the treatment sets me back--under doctor's orders, of course.

So far, all of my walks have been with one or more family members, which is always my preference. I often go out with my husband. We like traipsing through the Hazeldean Woods near our house, which is where the photo below was taken. My son prefers walking down residential streets so that he can look at houses. My daughter is easy going: good conversation is more important than the destination.

Why is exercise recommended for cancer patients?

The American Cancer Society states that "newer research has shown that exercise is not only safe and possible during cancer treatment, but it can improve how well you function physically and your quality of life." It notes that exercise during cancer treatment can maintain your physical abilities, improve your balance and self-esteem, and lower the risk of anxiety, depression, nausea and fatigue.

Similarly, the Mayo Clinic describes exercise as your secret weapon during cancer treatment. It states that "Many research studies support the idea that exercising during cancer treatment helps you feel better." The benefits of exercise include reduced depression and anxiety, increased energy and strength, and reduced pain.

And the Canadian Cancer Society notes that being active during and after treatment helps both the mind and the body. It can "improve your sleep and appetite, lower your blood pressure, reduce stress and anxiety, ease side effects like nausea, pain and fatigue, boost your self-esteem and improve your quality of life."

I've always said that walking is magical. Perhaps it can work magic on this new journey.