[2020-08-14] First oncologist visit

I had my first visit with an oncologist today. No notable surprises and no particular concerns specific to my test results.

Dr. Faught estimates that I am at Stage 3, which is what I expected to hear. He noted that most people who present with ovarian cancer are at Stage 3.

The next steps are surgeryset for Aug 28followed by six rounds of chemotherapy, every 3 weeks, once I recover sufficiently from the hysterectomy (about 3-4 weeks). Dr. Faught estimates that the treatment will take about 6 months to complete.

It's comforting to know that we're moving forward, but it's also scary.

And so I will hold tight to all the love I've receivedthrough messages via every electronic platform, beautiful cards, music suggestions and gorgeous flowers. I will accept all the support that has been offered and take solace in it. I will surrender to the fact that I don't need to be strong all the time. I will be kind to myself and invite those saddened by my situation to do the same for themselves. I will try to live in the moment. I will strive to be there for others and to find meaning in what I contribute to the world.


Flowers courtesy of four wonderful women. Thank you so much!