[2020-08-15] Smile

Six years ago, when walking at the Bruce Pit dog park in Ottawa, I scrawled the word SMILE in the sand. The earth was still damp from the rain we had had the previous few days. The sun was shining on that beautiful June morning, and I was filled with joy and gratitude.

Soon into the walk, I saw a stubby stick on the ground. It looked like a short, fat pencil--something that would be perfect for drawing words in the dirt. And so I picked it up and scrawled SMILE into the soft earth. Doing so made me smile. I walked a little further along the path, and wrote LOVE. Then a little later, BE KIND. And still later, BREATHE.

A little girl asked me what I was doing. "I’m writing words in the sand to make people happy," I said.

In the sandy area where the dogs love to frolic, I was inspired to write PLAY.

On my first round, I spelled out LAUGH, APPRECIATE EACH OTHER, TAKE A BREAK, ENJOY, BE PROUD. On my second round, I retraced the letters of my words.

People started smiling at me as they realized that I was the sketch artist. One woman said, "You’re the one writing all these words. Thank you for making my day." Another suggested additional words: gratitude and diversity:

I wrote BE GRATEFUL and EMBRACE DIVERSITY. I finished the path with YOU ARE AMAZING!

One day later, the words had disappeared, but the memory of that day is etched in my mind. That’s the incredible thing about trying to make others happy: we can’t help but become happier ourselves.

I'm not sure what made me think about that occasion today, but rereading the post tonight and seeing that photo of the word SMILE traced on the path soothed my worried, tired soul.

I did not sleep well last night, following my visit yesterday with the oncologist. I also wasn't feeling well physically or mentally for most of the day.

But late this afternoon, a friend stopped by for a short visit over the fence in my backyard. He came bearing gifts of food, which was so kind. Later, my husband made a beautiful supper and then we went out for our walk in the woods.

Now, as I sit outside in the dark writing this post, with patio lights twinkling and a scented candle flickering (a gift from a friend from several years ago), I feel energized and restored. I am more hopeful today than I was yesterday or even earlier today.

I will take the advice that I wrote in the sand six years ago. I will smile and breathe. I will play and laugh. I will be proud and grateful. I will appreciate everyone who is in my life and the love they are sharing.