[2020-08-16] The value of a simple thank you

I have said thank you hundreds of times in the past few weeks, and with good reason. I have been blessed with wishes for a speedy recovery and encouragement to stay strong. I have been paid countless compliments. I have received gifts in many forms, from music and cards, to food and flowers.

There was a time in my life when a compliment or a gift might have been met with a different response.

I remember reading an article years ago that pointed out that we often don't say thank you when someone offers a compliment or a gift. Instead, we might say, "Oh, I'm not that special" or "Oh, you shouldn't have."

Such a response may be motivated by wanting to appear modest or not wanting to feel indebted to someone else. But the article pointed out that when we negate what someone says or offers, we take away the good feeling that they might otherwise experience in doing something nice for someone else. This is sometimes called the giver's highpositive emotions that come from doing good.

That article resonated with me, as I realized that I often resisted the kindnesses that came my way.

Since then, I have tried to accept thoughtful gestures with a simple thank you.

Today, I had much to be thankful for. I experienced very little discomfort. I had lots of energy (I managed to reach my daily goal of 10,000 steps despite the rain, as I have every day since beginning my health leave). I enjoyed continued optimism.

I want this blog to be about more than me, just as I want my life to be about more than cancer.

I hope that you can take something from my daily reflections to apply in your own life.