[2020-08-19] Pre-op and blessings

Pre-op

More progress today towards my surgery on Friday, August 28.

Because of COVID, all pre-op consultations were held by phone, which suited me just fine. I had calls with a registered nurse, an anesthesiologist and a pharmacist. They were well prepared, asking a series of questions. They were comfortable with my having my niece on the calls (she's a nurse). They were happy to answer her questions and mine, though we had few because they did a good job of explaining what I can expect.

The surgery is anticipated to take 2½ hours. I will have a general anesthetic as well as a spinal anesthetic. The anesthesiologist explained that a spinal anesthetic improves pain management and will be in between 12 and 24 hours. Dr. Watson said that he did not expect any issues to arise in the surgery and was complimentary of my surgeon, Dr. Le. He described Dr. Le as a very focused guy who takes his time.

I'm expected to be in the hospital 3 days after the surgery, which would mean discharge on Monday, August 31. And it appears that I will be able to have a visitorby appointmentwhile I'm in the hospital.

It's fascinating to be seeing our healthcare system up close after spending 4 years communicating about health matters. So far, I'm pleased. I continue to consider myself blessed to be going through this health issue in Canada.

Blessings

Speaking of blessings, my oldest brother came to see me this morning for a socially distanced visit on my deck. He also brought me a homemade lasagna, courtesy of his girlfriend, along with tomatoes and cucumbers from their garden.

My sister also brought produce from her garden when she visited on Monday. She tells me that her garden has gone wild and that her neighbours are coming to tour it. (Ha, ha, my sister is very funny.) She also sent me photos of the zinnias that she planted in front of her house. Our mom had flower beds full of these colourful blooms when we were kids and seeing those flowers made me nostalgic. She and my mom are planning to visit tomorrow.

The chocolates that my brother-in-law and sister-in-law ordered as a wedding gift arrived yesterday. They're from the Hadhad family, who established Peace by Chocolate in Nova Scotia after resettling there from Syria.

Blessings have come in many forms: fresh kale, scones and other goodies, chocolate, flowers, cards, songs, calls, emails, texts, recommendations for books to read and shows to watch, so many words of encouragement, and lots of advice. I've appreciated every single gesture of love.

One of the nicest things I've heard is how my blog is inspiring readers to think differently, to act where they may have hesitated, and to appreciate what they have.

One friend said: "if the point of writing anything is to stir the reader, I guess I am saying that you are succeeding magnificently."

So, today, I encourage you to count your blessings, to recognize the individuals who contribute to those blessings, and to acknowledge the gift that you are.

Photo by Kathleen Hollington