[2020-08-23] Timely acts of kindness

When I wrote yesterday that it had been my toughest day mentally and physically, I didn't know then that my pain would increase to the point that I would need to go to the emergency. I spent from 9:00 p.m. to almost 3:00 a.m. at the hospital last night, along with my kindhearted niece who served as my chauffeur, companion and advocate.

After blood and urine tests and a chest X-ray, I was sent home with instructions to continue taking Tylenol. Fortunately, my pain had greatly subsided and has been quite manageable today. The ER doctors were not able to ascertain whether the pain was associated with my cancer or my gallbladder. Geesh, as if I need something else wrong with me!

For my part, I wonder whether I pushed myself too hard yesterday to get my 10,000 steps when I wasn't feeling my best and whether I was being too conservative in my use of pain medication.

So I've spent the day in bed to avoid overtaxing myself and to catch a bit more sleep after my late night. I'm taking my pain medication on a schedule so that I can get ahead of the discomfort. This is all pretty new to me.

It was a perfect day, therefore, for these little gems--hand-painted rocks with inspirational words--to show up at my door along with a card sending me courage, strength and hope as I face my health challenges one day at a time. It was also a perfect day for a basket of freshly baked peach almond shortbread bars to be delivered. And what's a day without a little laughter? A friend sent me a link to Katia Kvinge's weather forecast. My thanks to everyone who is lifting my spirits. I am so touched.

It's easy to underestimate the impact of our acts of love or the timeliness of our kind gestures, which have a way of appearing precisely when the recipient needs them the most. Please think about the people in your life who could use a quick call, a funny email or a little surprise at their front door. Your reaching out may be exactly what they need at that very moment.