[2020-08-30] Little victories

I continued to make good progress today. In addition to sitting in a chair, I went to the bathroom and did a couple of walks in the hall.

The nausea is gone. The tube into my stomach and the catheter were removed this morning. My medication through the epidural has been decreased, yet my pain remains low.

I started drinking ginger ale today and ate some fruit salad at lunch. For supper, I had turkey with mashed potatoes and gravy plus peas and carrots. Coincidentally, mashed potatoes were one of my go-to foods when I had morning sickness 30 years ago, so it felt very familiar and soothing.

I feel like a child, taking my first steps or starting on solid food for the first time. Talk about getting back to the basics.

It's amazing how the smallest accomplishments can feel like the biggest successes.

It's important to celebrate life's little victories, such as growing a garden, or being creative, or having a pleasant visit with a family member, or succeeding at a new recipe, or having someone tell you that you inspire them.

My wish for you today is that you celebrate your little victories.

As I was writing this post, I was listening to CPAB's Songs for Jen and Annie Lennox's "Shining Light" came on. She sings...

Yeah, you are a shining light
Yeah, you light up my life

You have all been shining lights in my life. You can certainly count that as a little victory. 😊