[2020-08-31] Little victories revisited

My sister sent me a very funny rewrite of my Little victories post from last night. I would say that it had me in stitches, but I was already in stitches.

Speaking of stitches, my bandage was removed today. Thought I was going to get a free wax job, but no luck. My nurse was a pro.

In addition to stitches, I have a long line of staples in my belly. So I can handle any jokes. Bring on the belly laughs. I'm ready.

My epidural was removed today. Since yesterday morning, I've gone from Dilaudid at 8mg to 6mg, 4mg, 2mg and now 1mg. I don't like opioids; they make me feel loopy and hungover. Yuck! Will be glad to say goodbye to those in a few days.

I did 8 laps around the nurses station today, up from yesterday's 4. Felt like I did the marathon. The nurses should install ribbon so that we can break through it and raise our arms in triumph.

I found myself listening to a classical music playlist this afternoon. When I got to "Send in the Clowns" and the opera singer sang Do you love farce?, I thought that she had said Do you love farts? I swear that you will say you love farts when you can't have farts. This is the last test I need to pass (no pun intended) before I can leave the hospital. Little victories. Little victories.

My IV was disconnected today too. I don't need it since I can consume food, drink and medicine orally. Omelette, a smuggled-in scone, bran flakes, prune juice, mashed potatoes and smuggled-in clementines were the standouts on the menu today.

Actually, the highlight for me during my stay at the hospital spa are the nurses. They are a special breed of people. I've heard of ride-alongs with police, but I think people should do ride-alongs with nurses. They are among the most dedicated and kind employees I've ever met.

At midnight last night, Nurse Deb decided to untangle all my tangled-up lines. That's commitment. And Nurse Pat, who was with me for the first two nights, would pad in like a cat and say my name quietly so that I would wake up enough so that she could check my vital signs. Day nurses Miranda and Courtney handled the extractions (tubes, bandages) and would check in with me even when I hadn't used my call bell. Physician Assistant Shannon stopped by a few times today to check on my pain medication.

They are all so busy but so committed to caring for their patients.

My inspiring thought for today is this: learn the names of your nurses and other health professionals. You will build a stronger relationship and better bond with them. And you will make their day when you can say, "Briana, you are excellent at your job; I am so grateful for your support."

I expect to go home tomorrow.