[2020-09-01] Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month

September is Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month. I didn't know this until a friend on this journey pointed it out to me.

I'm still new to ovarian cancer. Just over a month ago, I was working hard on the COVID file and thought I was in good health. I didn't know the symptoms of this very silent cancer, andeven if I had known themI had only two that were noticeable: slight bloating and changes in urinary frequency. Ovarian Cancer Canada describes the symptoms of the disease as follows:

  1. Bloating - increased abdominal size/persistent bloating
  2. Eating - difficulty eating or feeling full quickly
  3. Pain - in pelvic or abdominal areas
  4. Urinary symptoms - urgency or frequency

It adds, "Occasionally there can be other symptoms such as changes in bowel habits, extreme fatigue or unexplained weight loss. Just because you have the symptoms does not mean you have ovarian cancer."

I honestly thought that I had gained a few pounds after being on lockdown for 3 months and that I had a urinary tract infection. I even got antibiotics in case I did have a UTI.

A bout of unexplained pain took me to the emergency on July 29 and everything unfolded from there: ultrasound, blood work, CT scan, another ultrasound, meeting with a gynecologic oncologist, and hysterectomy. A month later, I am back home, recovering from surgery and planning for the next step, which is chemotherapy: 6 rounds, every three weeks beginning within the next 3-4 weeks. My follow-up appointment with the Women's Health Centre is already scheduled. I got the call just as I was returning home from the hospital at midday today.

The first Friday in September is Wear Teal Day. So you may want to wear teal on Friday, September 4. I will do the same.

The 2020 Ovarian Cancer Walk for Hope is virtual this year, and will take place on Sunday, September 13. Participate if you can.

If you take only one thing from this post, may it be greater knowledge of the symptoms of ovarian cancer. Know them yourself and share them with the women in your life.

Home sweet home

I cried for the first time today. Not because of my diagnosis. Not because of the challenge of surgery and the tough road ahead. Not because of physical pain.

No, I cried because of the beauty of the human spirit that is embodied in all the nurses who took care of me when I was at my most vulnerable. After working with me for just 4 hours, my final nurse (Sarah) said to me as I was preparing to leave the hospital: "If it weren't for COVID, I would have given you the biggest hug." She took the same pride in my hitting milestones as she would have had I been her best friend. "Look at you, girlfriend" she said after one report.

I returned home to my family, who are pleased to take up the mantle of nursemaid. I am happy to be back in their loving arms, and I continue to be strengthened by your messages of support, your generosity and your interest in my story.