[2020-09-05] Mental energy

I had my best sleep last night since the surgery: almost 8 hours, spread over 9 hours in bed. That's excellent for me, and was a welcome departure from the previous night when I got so little sleep as I moved from the La-Z-Boy to the couch to my bed.

And while I still don't have a lot of physical energy, I had more mental energy today than I have had in a week. So I could read, work on a puzzle, and do maintenance on the blog.

When I lose not just physical energy but also the drive to do anything that requires thinking, I know that I'm really off my game. But I see the return of mental energy as another good sign that I'm getting better.

Next on my recovery wish list is greater physical energy, so that I can once again blow-dry my hair, help out in the kitchen, and go for walks. Simple goals.

Despite the lack of sleep and nausea earlier in the week and the resultant lack of energy, I have remained in good spirits. My recovery from surgery has proceeded at a pace that I would have expected, perhaps even better than expected. The nausea has lifted, and my pain has continued to be manageable even while I have cut back on pain medication. My appetite has remained strong, and my digestive system is functioning well.

And through all of this, I have the time to connect with family members, to correspond with well-wishers, and to blogall things that bring me joy. I hope that you have a spectacular long weekend.