[2020-09-12] Invincible love

This morning, my sister-in-law Pam sent me this beautiful quote by Albert Camus:

My dear,
In the midst of hate, I found there was, within me, an invincible love.
In the midst of tears, I found there was, within me, an invincible smile.
In the midst of chaos, I found there was, within me, an invincible calm.
I realized, through it all, that…
In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer.
And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there’s something strongersomething better, pushing right back.

It got me thinking about the power within each of us to face challenges, especially illness. But I also wondered about how much inner strength comes from ourselves and how much comes from the support of friends.

In Why Spending Time With Friends Is One of the Best Things You Can Do for Your Health, Time reporter Jamie Ducharme writes:

Studies have shown that social support—whether it comes from friends, family members or a spouse—is strongly associated with better mental and physical health. A robust social life, these studies suggest, can lower stress levels; improve mood; encourage positive health behaviors and discourage damaging ones; boost cardiovascular health; improve illness recovery rates; and aid virtually everything in between.

That's great news for me, as I continue to be showered with love from family, friends and coworkers.

Also this morning, my dear colleague Louise dropped off a whole bundle of goodies for me and my family on behalf of my branch employees: 4 pies (quiche, chicken, salmon, meat) and 4 desserts, a reading robe and socks, a gorgeous throw, beautifully scented candles, body wash, lotion and creams, and elegant face masks. My heart swelled, both at the pleasure of seeing Louise and hearing her infectious laugh and at the joy of receiving so many wonderful gifts to aid in my self-care.

And this afternoon, my wonderful husband built a bench that converts to a picnic table. When we sat on it, he said, "This is your wedding gift." How sweet is that? One more piece to add to my deck, which my husband calls "the room that Chris built."

I leave you with Gillian Jones' poem "A Friend":

A person who will listen and not condemn
Someone on whom you can depend
They will not flee when bad times are here
Instead they will be there to lend an ear
They will think of ways to make you smile
So you can be happy for a while
When times are good and happy there after
They will be there to share the laughter
Do not forget your friends at all
For they pick you up when you fall
Do not expect to just take and hold
Give friendship back, it is pure gold.

If I have an invincible love, an invincible smile and an invincible calm, it is duein no small partto friends and family I know and love.