[2020-09-20] Family

My sister and my niece visited this afternoon. We sat on the deck, well spaced and well dressed, with a fleece blanket over our legs as the afternoon wore on.

As we chatted, my daughter brought small courses of food from the kitchen. Homemade squash-zucchini-spinach fritters—her own delectable creation. Then buttered toast made from bread she had baked the night before. My husband then served us tea and chocolate-chip cranberry mookies (a cross between a muffin and a cookie that tastes like a muffin top) that I had made with my daughter's help just before my guests arrived.

The sun was shining, music played in the background, and the conversation flowed easily. Among the subjects we talked about were interesting or crazy things we'd done in the past and things we'd like to do in the future. My wishlist for the years ahead included experiences, such as watching live ballroom dancing or going to a drag show.

For me, though, few experiences top spending time with family. To reminisce with people with whom I share a history and loved ones is incredibly satisfying. On this day, we recalled occasions when our brother Greg had helped us out of a jam; he could be convinced to do anything even if it was inconvenient for him.

I have been blessed by the affection of many friends, but today I recognize the love of my family. Every day, my immediate family is helping me to heal, fetching all the things I forget when I move from room to room and supporting me as I do what I can and nothing more. My mom and siblings visit and call and write, and bring food. My niece, the nurse, calls me every day or two just to see how I'm doing. And members of my extended family of cousins and in-laws call and write and send inspirational or humorous messages.

Family is special.