[2020-10-03] Worse than the first

I promised myself that I would honestly reflect my journey with cancer.

Pyjama Day 2 is definitely worse than Pyjama Day 1.

I'm experiencing more nausea and pain, and less energy and appetite. And I'm taking backup nausea and pain meds.

I'm hoping that I'll feel better tomorrow.

As I write this post, wonderful smells from the kitchen are wafting up to my bedroom. My husband, Chris, is making another delectable meal. I will muster the energy to join him and our kids at the table for a few bites and our nightly game of Jeopardy.

Chris, Shane and Melanie check on me throughout the day to see how I'm doing and to ask whether I need anything.

My sister and niece called earlier today, and we had a long conversation, which left me feeling more energized than at any other time of the day.

After I send my post, I will have my nightly call with my mom.

Today's entry in A Year of Positive Thinking is about beauty:

Expect the world to be a beautiful place, and it will be. Find beauty in the small details, and the big ones, too.

Despite how I'm feeling, there is beauty in the world, especially the love of family. It will be my anchor in the days ahead.