[2020-10-07] A tribute to my husband

A friend sent me some Herman jokes today, which made me think of my husband. That may not sound flattering, but hear me out.

Herman's creator, cartoonist Jim Unger, is an equal opportunity joker, poking fun at the male and female characters in his comic in comparable measure. That realism is, I think, what makes the strip so relatable.

In my own relationship, Chris and I have learned to accept each other exactly as we arescarred or unblemished, sick or healthy, working incessantly or reclining in a La-Z-Boy. We don't try to change each other. And we don't try to get the other to do what they don't want to do.

But we're also there for each other whenever we're needed. I couldn't ask for a more supportive partner, especially as I face cancer.

Over our 30+ years together, Chris has softened me, making me more gentle and patientmore of a live-and-let-live kinda girl. He has known what I needed before I expressed it myself. And he has taught me that a successful marriage is about small, daily acts of love more than occasional grand gestures.

Many years ago, I wrote a list of One Hundred Blessings of Chris. Here are just 10 that remain as relevant today as when I compiled them. Chris is:
  • A man who loves me and is proud of me
  • A partner in raising our children
  • An adventurous and loving cook
  • A creative and determined gift-giver
  • A playful person
  • A trusting and trustworthy partner
  • A patient chauffeur and delivery man
  • A faithful and committed partner who is never jealous
  • A smart fellow and a worthy opponent at Jeopardy
  • A Mr. Softie
As I wrote early in this blog, cancer may take some things, but it can also give things. Cancer has given me a new appreciation of my husband and the blessings he brings to my life.

Today's inspiration is to reach out to someone you love to let them know what they mean to you and how important they are in your life.