[2020-10-12] Staying hydrated

Drinking water is important at the best of times, but even more so when receiving chemotherapy. Six ways to stay strong during chemo recommends that cancer patients stay well hydrated, as chemotherapy can be dehydrating. "Drinking plenty of water before and after treatment helps your body process chemotherapy drugs and flush the excess out of your system," the article explains.

After surgery and especially after chemotherapy, I found that many beverages that I had previously enjoyed—such as sparkling water, coffee and tea—were no longer satisfying. So I've been experimenting to find drinks that taste good and that are gentle on my stomach. In the past few days, for example, I've returned to an old favourite: simple tap water flavoured with slices of lime.

Given that many of us struggle to drink enough water, I decided to compile tips on staying hydrated, based on my own experience and additional research.

Keep water within arms reach at all times
I found this tip in a magazine years ago and have tried to live by it. I have numerous reusable water bottles, and I try to have one filled with water near me at all times. In the past, that included at the office, when shopping and when on a long walk in the summer. It still includes whenever I'm doing a sedentary task (such as reading or writing) and even when I'm sleeping (I have a water bottle on my bedside table). Keeping a water bottle handy can also serve as a visual reminder to drink more often.

Find a container that's a joy to drink from
Some cups and water bottles create a flow that minimizes the effort to drink and maximizes the pleasure. For cold drinks, I love a Contigo cup or the lovely hand-blown stemless wine glass that a new friend sent to me on behalf of herself and three other beautiful women. For hot drinks, it's a Thermos travel mug, which keeps my decaf coffee or tea hot for hours. For those of you who like to use straws, there are lots of reusable options in funky colours and designs. And a cup with a humorous or inspirational message is more likely to draw your attention, and therefore remind you to drink.

Fill a pitcher with your target for daily water consumption
This approach is especially helpful for those who drink out of a glass. Keeping a container of water near your workspace to refill your glass may increase the chances that you'll meet your goal.

Flavour water with fruit or vegetables
22 Easy Ways to Drink More Water Every Day says: "You can add a little bit of excitement and flavor by steeping fresh fruit (grapefruit, strawberries, lemon), veggie slices (cucumber, ginger, celery), and herbs (basil, mint, lavender) in your carafe." Slices of lime are my favourite. I also use a very functional glass water bottle that includes a fruit infuser. I've put frozen mango and strawberry in the infuser. You can also add a splash of fruit juice to your water.

Drink filtered water through a filtered water pitcher or faucet filter
How to stay hydrated during cancer treatment notes that "Filters may improve the taste of tap water by reducing chlorine and other minerals."

Set reminders
While I haven't personally tried this trick, it is one of the interesting tips I came across. 12 Simple Ways to Drink More Water suggests "setting a reminder to take a few sips of water every 30 minutes, or set a reminder to finish drinking your current glass of water and refill it every hour."

Set up a routine, such as drinking a glass of water after every bathroom break or before each meal
22 Easy Ways to Drink More Water Every Day states: "Start a habit by linking drinking water with one of your most common daily activities—going to the bathroom. Getting up from your desk for a bathroom break? Stop by the kitchen to chug a glass of water. It's just another way to build the habit into your daily routine. You'll already be getting up, which means it's a perfect time to stop by the water cooler or the faucet to fill up your bottle or glass. And it will set up a great cycle: The more water you drink, the more you'll have to go to the bathroom, which means the more water you will drink, and so on."

12 Simple Ways to Drink More Water recommends making it a habit to drink one glass of water before each meal, which adds an extra 3 cups to your daily water intake. "Moreover, sometimes your body may mistake feelings of thirst for hunger. Drinking a glass of water before eating can help you discern whether you are feeling true hunger."

Drink other healthy beverages besides water
Fluids other than water, such as milk and caffeine-free or herbal tea, can help you stay hydrated. You can also add lots of ice to your drinks and smoothies, which is an easy way to sneak more water into your day. 13 Hacks That Will Force You To Drink More Water Each Day says: "Popping just four ice cubes into your glass adds roughly a half of a cup of water to your drink―and your taste buds will barely notice."

Eat foods with high water content
While drinking water is the best way to remain hydrated, many foods contain water and can help replenish lost fluids. Examples are cucumber (96% water), lettuce, celery, tomatoes and zucchini (95% water), watermelon (92% water), broccoli and grapefruit (91% water), oranges (86% water) and blueberries (84% water). Soup, yogurt and homemade smoothies also have high water content.

Mix it up to stay motivated
I've had to figure out what agrees with me, much like I did when I had morning sickness 30 years ago. Thenbelieve it or notgrapefruit juice was one of the few things I could keep down. It's one of the provisions I asked my husband to purchase for me when I got out of the hospital. I don't drink much, often only half a cup whenever I need to take Restorolax. For those who struggle to drink enough, mixing up the options may be the best way to stay motivated.

If you have other suggestions for easy-on-the-belly beverages, please pass them along. I would be very grateful.