[2020-11-05] Love in a cup

In response to Staying connected, my oldest brother, Tim, told me that his favourite way to remain in touch with loved ones was the physically distanced walk. He stopped by yesterday with my mom for a walk around my street, followed by a conversation on my deck. We physically distanced from each other and wore masks to add an extra layer of protection given my immunocompromised status.

In thinking about the various ways we can stay connected, Tim said that he wouldn't do the virtual poetry club, but he thought that interpreting song lyrics might be interesting. When he asked me whether I had a favourite song with uplifting lyrics, I couldn't think of one. Though I love music, I'm not an auditory person by nature. I'm much more of a visual person. So I don't readily remember song lyrics.

But while I was listening to music later in the day, a song came up on my Spotify favourites that I felt would fit the bill. It's called "Love in a Cup" (Spotify, YouTube) by a group called Outside I'm a Giant, which hails from Gatineau, Quebec. I discovered the group in 2019 when it played at Bluesfest in Ottawa.

"Love in a Cup" is both lyrically and musically soothing. The song is an open invitation to a friend to stop by the singer's home, not just for coffee ("It's brewing for you") but for support ("if you're still hurtin' | Call out to me"). The singer promises to pour out "Love in a cup" and commits to offering an open door ("If you're stuck in a rut | You'll always find | A place at my table").

The most moving verse for me is this one: "You might never see | How much | Of an inspiration | You are to me | To see you like this | I realize | The depth of the pain that you hide inside." Many people tell me that I am an inspiration and while I don't feel that I'm currently hiding a pain inside me, that could change. Cancer could yet prove a difficult foe to vanquish. But I am confident that if I do find myself hiding a pain inside that I would have many smoking chimneys under which to seek love in a cup.

Love in a Cup

In front of my eyes
The storm took form
But I am not fearful
I have poetry
To cling onto
In the dead of the night
And if you're still hurtin'
Call out to me

Love in a cup
Is what I will pour
If you're stuck in a rut
You'll always find
A place at my table
When others are blind
To your cause
I know real moments don't come 'round a lot
So drop on by
It's brewing for you
Under my smoking chimney tonight

You might never see
How much
Of an inspiration
You are to me
To see you like this
I realize
The depth of the pain that you hide inside

Love in a cup
Is what I will pour
If you're stuck in a rut
You'll always find
A place at my table
When others are blind
To your cause
I know real moments don't come 'round a lot
So drop on by
It's brewing for you
Under my smoking chimney tonight