[2020-11-06] Fatigue and exercise

I woke up feeling a little off today, a bit like I do on my first pyjama day after chemotherapy. I checked my temperature. Normal. I checked my Fitbit to see how I had slept because I had woken up several times in the night. My sleep score was 80—not stellar, but a respectable number nevertheless.

I got up at 6:45, my usual time. After a good breakfast, I headed out for a 40-minute walk with my son through the Hazeldean Woods. My modest weakness didn't slow me down.

When I returned home, I asked my husband when he wanted to go for his walk, expecting that he would put it off until later in the morning. To my surprise, he said, "Let's go now." So off we went. I returned after my second 40-minute traipse through the woods with almost 10,000 steps logged.

It's ironic that I should feel off today since I was telling my sister only yesterday that I generally feel strong and energetic, with no pain or ill effects from my cancer treatment, aside from the few days after chemotherapy. But I think I'm starting to see a pattern of a slight dip in my strength a week or so out from my next chemotherapy.

Some may worry that my daily 10,000 steps is too much. However, I was encouraged by the advice in the Mayo Clinic's Cancer fatigue: Why it occurs and how to cope, which indicated that exercise is recommended even when fatigued. In fact, the organization says that a lack of exercise can make a cancer patient feel tired or weak. "If you're used to being on the go, slowing down can make you feel fatigued. Though you will have good days and bad days, try to maintain your normal level of activity if you can."

Every site I've consulted and everything I've heard from my own cancer team recommends regular exercise and good nutrition.

The Mayo Clinic page recommends, among other things, that cancer patients maintain their energy by drinking lots of fluids and eating well. I continue to eat well and am now consistently drinking 8-9 cups of fluid daily, though perhaps a little less on pyjama days. The Mayo Clinic also recommends that cancer patients get moving. "When you feel up to it, light exercise throughout the week may help you preserve your energy level. Exercise regularly as you start treatment. You'll get in the routine of exercising, and it may even help you prevent fatigue during treatment."

I felt about the same physically after my walk, and I certainly felt better mentally. I like to reach my step goal early in the day; it makes me feel accomplished when I return from a walk. As I always say, walking is magical. It's an integral part of my self-care.

But I also know how to slow down if I need to. After my second walk, I crawled back into bed and wrote my post under a warm duvet. There's something nurturing about being able to snuggle up in bed when I'm feeling even mildly fatigued.

As today wore on, I felt better, more like my normal self.

I share this update not because I have any concerns, but simply to honestly reflect my experience with cancer treatment. I'm grateful that I continue to have way more good days than bad.