[2020-11-22] Making joy

As I sit down to write tonight's post, I smile at all the glitter that's on my computer keyboard. The glitter came from my Christmas cards, which I was putting together this afternoon. There's something about anything sparkly that brings me joy.

Also today, my husband put up the last of our three Christmas villages. The third one—a vision in white and sparkles—is my favourite. We've started our Christmas decorating earlier this year than in previous years.

And judging by posts I'm seeing on social media, we're not alone. It's as if we're all looking for things that bring us joy, as a counterbalance to things that bring us sadness, such as COVID, cancer and constant work.

Finding joy in the midst of gloomy circumstances is good for our mental health. We find it in warm-from-the-oven homemade bread, the perfect gift that also supports a local business, or a fun birthday celebration over Zoom that's almost as good as being there in person.

Even better than finding joy is making joy. It starts with giving ourselves permission to experience joy and continues with unashamedly acknowledging the things that make us happy.

For me, I feel joy when I:
  • snuggle under a down duvet, which is like being enveloped in a heavenly cloud
  • sit in a dark room with only Christmas lights on
  • drink a hot latté in the evening (decaf, of course)
  • eat any dessert with caramel sauce
  • write a really good blog post
  • watch Jeopardy with my husband
  • discover a new song that moves me
  • walk, especially in nature
  • laugh out loud (often at something funny my sister has texted to me)
  • wake up feeling rested
  • check things off my to-do list
  • finish a really good book
  • enter my bedroom after having earlier tidied it up
  • try a new recipe that the whole family loves
  • do a good deed
  • share food that makes others happy
  • reminisce with my husband and kids
  • reach 10,000 steps in a day
  • chat with happy people
  • receive a compliment
  • harvest vegetables from a garden
  • hear my family members laughing
  • play a fun game
  • put on a new pair of socks
  • get into a bed with fresh linens (especially sheets that have been dried outside)
  • watch A Charlie Brown Christmas
Most things on this list are moments of joy that I can make happen. That means that I can bring joy into my life, such as going for a walk, rather than wait for it to show up, such as receiving a compliment. There is comfort in having that kind of power.

We all have the power to cultivate joy. More importantly, we all deserve to have joy. Make some joy in your life.