[2020-12-01] Self-love

Today's post is inspired by a few recent discoveries.

The first is today's entry in A Year of Positive Thinking. Author Cyndie Spiegel suggests an exercise in self-love. "Instead of criticizing who you aren't," she writes, "what if you spent time focusing on what makes you extraordinary?" She invites readers to write a list of 25 qualities and traits they love about themselves, to reread the list when completed and to tuck it away for future reference. She recommends coming back to the list within six months and making the exercise a yearly practice.

The second inspiration for today's post is an email I received from the folks at Canva, which is the wonderful graphic design platform I use to create the visuals that accompany my blog posts. They wrote: "It’s time to fulfill your childhood ambition of creating your very own comic strip. Discover our new comic strip templates and let your creativity run wild."

The third inspiration is a super fun Bitmoji that I shared with a few family members last night: my avatar on a mechanical bull. The caption for this graphic is: "I have cancer, I'm bald, and I have a lumpy, bumpy belly, but I enjoy every day!"

So I put those three inspirations together and produced the comic strip below.

I hope that you will create a similar list, whether you use Bitmoji and Canva or pen and paper. Just pause and remember what makes you so lovable. As Cyndie Spiegel says, "There's no such thing as too much self-love."