[2020-12-04] International Cookie Day

As I lounged in bed this morning (no early-morning walk on Pyjama Day), I came across a story in my news feed that today is International Cookie Day. It was the brainchild of Matt Nader in 1987. Nader worked for the Blue Chip Cookie Company, based in San Francisco. Cookie Day was later promoted on Sesame Street by Cookie Monster.

All of this inspired me to make cookies with my daughter, who had, coincidentally, taken the day off work. We made Crisp Oatmeal Cookies from Allrecipes.com. Because Pyjama Day 1 has proven to be slightly less taxing on my body than Pyjama Days 2 and 3, I had the energy.

Given everything that I have to celebrate in my life, it feels appropriate to mark International Cookie Day.

Today, I celebrate completion of two-thirds of my chemotherapy treatments and a huge drop in my CA125 test results from 920 before treatment to 19 after three rounds of chemo (see yesterday's post).

More importantly, I celebrate the tremendous support I have received from so many people. Some of you call yourselves cheerleaders; others, guardian angels. I am proud to call you all friends. You validate and encourage and send positive energy. Some of you share your own stories of triumphing over cancer. But you also challenge me in subtle and gentle ways. You help me to remember that plans are just plans, subject to change. You remind me that patience is truly a virtue. And you steer me away from feeling sorry for myself.

I celebrate my familyimmediate and extended. My husband, who chauffeurs me to all my appointments, who does all the groceries and much of the cooking, and whose hugs serve as proxies for all the hugs I can't receive directly right now. My son and daughter, who celebrate every success and do many favours for me without hesitation. My mom and sister, who check in on me every day. My brothers, who connect less frequently but who, I know, care about me just as much. Numerous nieces, nephews, aunts, cousins and inlaws who send me messages of love and support.

I celebrate the medical professionals who are managing my treatment—the doctors and especially the nurses, so many of whom are like angels.

I celebrate the little things in life that bring me joy. Love. Good food, including sweet treats. Music. Christmas lights. Puppies (my daughter and I call dogs "puppies" and puppies "puppy puppies"). Warm blankets and soft pillows. Good news. Walks. The expertly voiced dramatization of The Collected Stories of Winnie-the-Pooh. Anything made out of wood. Playing Jeopardy with my family. Baking. Writing. Funny messages. Baby pictures. Jigsaw puzzles.

I could go on, but instead I encourage you to take a moment to celebrate everything that is good in your life. And if that includes cookies, then you have encouragement to celebrate International Cookie Day.