[2020-12-13] Spread a little sunshine

Back in September, I read the sad but inspiring story Struck by loneliness of seniors in pandemic, N.B. student pairs them with peers. While delivering food to seniors in her community, Mount Allison University student Hannah Crouse discovered loneliness at every stop. At the first house, the elderly woman who lived there alone, Brenda Trafford, invited Hannah into her home.

Crouse recalled: "I put the groceries away and then she started crying and crying, saying how sad she was and how no one had come to visit her since COVID started, and that was like, three or four months in." Crouse sat down and played cards with Trafford.

Encountering loneliness at every turn, Crouse was inspired to create a pairing program, ultimately matching 20 student volunteers from Mount Allison with 18 seniors. For her part, Crouse paired up with Trafford, who said, "I was hers and she was mine and that was it."

I thought about this story again the other day when a friend mentioned that her elderly parents are feeling quite lonely since they, too, have had few visitors since the start of COVID. I had sent her parents a card, and they were so touched by that small gesture of kindness. It made me wonder what more I could do to alleviate their loneliness, such as sending letters or dropping off cookies.

As is often the case when I have a question (what more can I do?), the universe replies. Yesterday, a friend shared with me that she had assembled and mailed each of her team members a Box of Sunshine. This was a new concept for me, so I googled "what is a box of sunshine?" and got this response:

A box of sunshine is a thoughtful care package that typically includes only gifts that are yellow. And, it's perfect for lots of occasions! A little themed box works like magic for cheering up low spirits and for sending well wishes to the sick. It's a happy surprise when sent for a birthday or even just because.

Having received many gifts in the past four months, I can attest that they have been very uplifting. In fact, I feel very lucky that I have not experienced loneliness even though it can be a side effect of cancer. As I shared previously, the Canadian Cancer Society notes:

Cancer can make you feel very alone. Friends and family may not phone or visit as often as you’d like. You may feel too sick to work or enjoy social activities. Even when you’re with people, you may feel that no one understands what you’re going through. Sometimes family or friends have a hard time dealing with cancer and may not visit or contact you as often as they did before. This doesn’t mean they don’t care. They may just be afraid to see someone looking sick or worry they will say the wrong thing.

Like cancer patients, elderly people may have a hard time socializing with others because of illness. COVID has only exacerbated the challenge. And some of the alternatives to in-person visits don't work well for the elderly. Poor sight, limited hearing or declining dexterity may make it difficult for seniors to participate in videoconferences, talk on the phone or navigate technology.

The Box of Sunshine idea seemed like a perfect answer. My friend's boxes included—among other things—chocolate, a bright-coloured hand towel, napkins, a coffee mug, Post-It notes, and a highlighter.

If you're looking for more inspiration, check out 47 Fantastic Box of Sunshine Ideas for Spreading Happiness. And if you have your own ideas to share, I'd love to hear them.