[2020-12-22] Waiting

This morning, I went for my customary blood test two days before my next scheduled chemotherapy on Christmas Eve. To avoid waiting in a long lineup, I use an app to check in online. Even when I check in right when the lab (Dynacare in Stittsville) opens at 8:00 a.m., the wait is already several hours long. Still, the system works well. Once the lab is ready for me, it sends me a text, and serves me as soon as I arrive, even if it takes me 10 minutes to drive from Kanata to Stittsville.

Now I just need to wait for the results of my blood test. I should receive them via The Ottawa Hospital's MyChart app late this evening. I have my fingers crossed that my neutrophils (a type of white blood cell) will be high enough to allow the chemotherapy to proceed. If they aren't, I'll have to get another blood test on Thursday morning at The Ottawa Hospital and then wait for those results to determine whether my treatment will go ahead or whether I'll have to wait for another week.

While waiting is a fact of life, it can feel like it's getting worse. For example, the Ontario government's announcement of a province-wide lock-down, to take effect on Boxing Day, is making many people feel more anxious, judging by the long lineups outside many stores in my neighbourhood yesterday and today. My husband went to Costco yesterday morning, only to give up when he saw a long lineup extending outside the store. He went back at 8:00 p.m. While the lineup was gone, so too were many items on the shelves. He also turned back at Farm Boy this morning; it's hard to justify going to a store for 10 minutes of shopping if you first have to wait that long or more just to get in.

Waiting for test results and waiting in lineups are both stressful. So to help you and me deal with the stress of waiting, I thought that I would focus on coping strategies for these two situations. Nothing here is new, but it never hurts to be reminded of positive practices.

In How to ease worry when waiting for medical test results, Lydia Smith says "it's important to recognise that it's normal to feel anxious before test results are revealed." News stories, social media and information about a friend's own health struggles can all exacerbate worrying.

Smith recommends seeing testing as a problem-solving step or a win-win. If the results point to an issue, you will be able to address that issue more quickly than if you hadn't gotten tested. If the results indicate no issue, you will have peace of mind. Get as much information as possible from health professionals rather than reading potentially inaccurate information online, especially in unmoderated forums. Speak with a trusted family member or friend about your worries to avoid bottling them up. Stick to your daily routine and keep busysuch as eating well, engaging in social activities or going for walksto avoid dwelling on the unknown. Focus on the present moment through meditation or slow, deep breathing.

In How to Overcome the Absolute Worst Thing About Holiday Travel, Amy Finnerty presents a series of truths about idling (quoted content below). I've supplemented this content with suggestions on how to ease the pain of queuing, inspired in part by the article 15 Scientific Tricks to Make Waiting Easier.

"Unoccupied time feels longer than occupied time." So find something other than the wait to focus on and come prepared. For instance, read a book; listen to music or hum a song under your breath; listen to an audiobook or podcast; watch a video or show that you've downloaded to your phone; play a game on your phone; watch people and guess their occupations (I used to do this with my kids when we waited in the car for my husband to do groceries, and it always made us laugh).

"Waiting alone is worse than waiting with one or more companions." So bring a friend, if appropriate, or talk to someone else in line or call someone you've been meaning to talk to.

"Anxiety makes a wait seem longer." So take slow, deep breaths from your abdomen and appreciate the opportunity to pause in the middle of your hectic day. Remind yourself that the wait is often not as long as it feels; studies show that people regularly overestimate the length of time they spend waiting.

I'll leave you with a quote that might help the next time you're waiting for something: "Patience is not the ability to wait, but the ability to keep a good attitude while waiting."