[2020-12-23] Love isn't cancelled

My neutrophils are at 1.0, not the ideal minimum of 1.2, but high enough to permit my chemotherapy to proceed tomorrow. As well, if past experience is an indicator, my level will be higher by the time I go for treatment in the morning.

With chemotherapy scheduled on Christmas Eve, I feel fortunate that this year's festivities will be celebrated at home. I probably wouldn't feel like traveling to visit with family on a day when I'd be better off at home in my pyjamas. There's always a silver lining with me.

The same is true of Charlie Mackesy, author of the beautiful book The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse. Yesterday, he published a wonderful image that helps to put into perspective where we are, as the pandemic drags on. It reads:

"Everything is cancelled."

"Love isn't cancelled," said the horse.

No matter where our loved ones are at this time, their love for us, and ours for them, is not diminished.

It's so easy to focus on what we don't have and all the things that we won't be able to do this year. But I'm choosing to focus on what I do have.

For starters, I woke up this morning. I live in Canada, a country whose healthcare system is giving me an excellent chance to fight cancer. Advances in science are minimizing the side effects of cancer treatment and improving my prognosis. Technology has enabled me to easily share my story, to see my family through videoconferences, and to shop online. I live with my husband and children, so our little nuclear family will be together for the holidays. Despite COVID and perhaps because of cancer, I have felt more love this year than in any prior year and have connected with so many people through my blog.

I'm sure that you have your own list of things for which you are grateful. This time of year is a perfect opportunity to remember all that is good in our lives.