[2020-12-24] Five down

It feels like Christmas came early. Today, I completed my fifth round of chemotherapy. Only one more to go. I'm pleased that I have received five rounds of cancer-fighting drugs, with no delays due to COVID.

I'm thrilled that my neutrophils were high enough (just high enough!) to proceed with chemo today. I have been feeling a little fatigued the past few days. My oncologist had mentioned at my post-surgery appointment in September that I would be more and more tired as I got further into chemo. I had forgotten this until I reread it in the notes I took on the call with the oncologist. It pays to take notes in discussions with healthcare professionals, as it's so easy to forget all the little details they cover.

With this round of chemotherapy, I experienced a new side effect: pain in my arm. It felt like ice was being pumped into my vein. The nurse said that this is common when the chemo drugs are cold. The solution was to wrap my arm in a warm blanket. I then bundled my down coat around the blanket. It was like a sleeping bag for my arm. Soon after, my vein calmed down, and I fell asleep. In fact, I slept through most of my treatment. Physically, I'm feeling more tired than usual, but mentally, I'm feeling as positive as ever.

A friend asked me whether it feels like the process has gone quickly or slowly. For me, it feels like time has moved forward at its natural pace.
  • Ultrasound and first diagnosis - Jul 29
  • CT scan - Jul 30
  • Second ultrasound - Aug 12
  • First oncology appointment - Aug 14
  • Surgery - Aug 28
  • Confirmation of ovarian cancer - Sep 24
  • First chemotherapy - Oct 1
  • Second chemotherapy - Oct 22
  • Genetic counselling and blood test - Oct 27
  • Third chemotherapy - Nov 13
  • Fourth chemotherapy - Dec 3
  • Fifth chemotherapy - Dec 24
In between these milestones were additional appointments and calls with my oncologists, surgical team, family doctor, and cancer care nurses as well as numerous blood tests.

In the new year, I will have more appointments with my oncology team and the genetic counsellors at CHEO, along with a new medication to begin after my final chemotherapy in January. So more to come, but I've already come so far.

My daughter has a wise saying, "I've survived 100% of my toughest days, and I will not stop." This is an inspiring mantra for me and for anyone going through a tough time.

On this Christmas Eve, I reflect on the fact that Christmasthough a magical occasion for meis not experienced that way by everyone. I also recognize that this year's celebrations will be like no others. So my wish for all of you is to be kind to yourself. Give yourself the gift you need, whatever that may be.