[2021-01-04] Lessons from the great big C

Though I spend hours each day working on my blog (including development of a new Resources page today), it is time well spent. Each post is a gift to me and to all of you. I receive many rewards in return, from positive comments, to recorded music to well wishes from family and friends. But perhaps the most unique gift I have received so far is the one that arrived today. In response to yesterday's post, John Brewerwhose mother also had ovarian cancerturned What are you here to teach me? into a poem. I am pleased to share John's gift with all of you.

Lessons from the great big C

We all live in fear hearing these doctor’s words,
"I’m sorry it’s cancer" was the last thing I heard
The rest lost in a confusing haze
Figuring I must now be facing my last days

Not surprisingly I sometimes find it hard to sleep
My Fitbit counting digital sheep
While I try to number the time that remains
How many treatments, what new pains?

But here in the dark I heard a clear voice
Belonging to Oprah, giving me a clear choice
(And no this was not an hallucination
But a podcast I’d turned on looking for some relaxation)
She said that when faced with a daunting task
There is one question we should always ask.

So taking her advice I looked at Cancer face to face
And asked it what it was doing in this place
"What is the lesson you are here to teach?"
And then I waited for Cancer’s speech.

"Interesting you ask me not your oncologist
Because as it happens I have quite the list…
First recognize your main goal in life
Is not to get to the end without strife
But to learn to be loved and to love along the way
Worth way more than what any job can pay
And the most precious thing you have is time
Wasting any quite frankly is a crime
Because you never know how much has been given to you
Don’t let it run out before you do
And never forget life’s not easy, it’s hard
No one gets to the end unscarred
But for every storm there’s a rainbow in the sky
You will see it if you try
And each and every one of us is unique
Everyone has value, no one’s a freak
Given this it’s an easy choice
To make sure the world hears your voice
And the only time you have is now
So make this one very simple vow
Enjoy today while it lasts
Don’t worry about the future or the past
And that means avoiding things that distract
And even sometimes refusing to act
Be present for those for whom you care
Sometimes it’s enough to just be fully there
And don’t put too much trust in your plans
The future’s not something that’s in your hands
Little things can bring you great joy
And the big things we chase end up a decoy
We have an impact on everyone we meet
Our dearest friends, the stranger on the street
And with each encounter we change too
You’ll never know how much others love you
You are respected, valued more than you can know
Your cup truly does overflow….."

The main lesson I have learned is the value of good health
Valuable beyond even Jeff Bezos’ wealth
It is the foundation of all we do
So above all I wish good health to you