[2021-01-19] You are more than

Today's post is, once again, inspired by feedback from readers. In response to last night's post, I am, a friend wrote to me:

You are more than a blogger
You are a poet

You are more than a poet
You are a storyteller

You are more than a storyteller
You are a unifier

You are more than a unifier
You are a leader

You are more than a leader
You are a boss

You are more than a boss
You are a coach/mentor

You are more than a coach/mentor
You are a writing teacher

You are more than a writing teacher
You are an editor

You are more than an editor
You are a co-author

The person who wrote this to me is a former employee, now friend. I have many such relationships: friendships that have grown out of our having worked together. It is one of the gifts of being a leader. I often think of current and past employees like my children—people whose professional and personal accomplishments fill me with pride.

My friend concluded his email to me with this:

But you are more than a former boss
You are…in fact, you have always been...more than who you are.

I was touched by this, not only because of the compliment my friend paid to me but also because it reminded me that others are often more aware of our "more thans" than we are.

My friend thought that I had covered the "I am" part well in last night's post, but perhaps not the "I am more than" part. In my mind, the latter was the simple statement that "I am more than cancer." But he raised a very good point. We often underestimate our gifts to the world, taking them merely at face value.

A different friend also responded to last night's post, saying:

You my friend are much more than that…. You are a teacher, mentor, coach, cheerleader, advocate, student, athlete, competitor, influencer……you are a model for many things worth setting an example for.

Both comments got me thinking what a gift it would be to others, such as our children (especially when they are young adults and struggling to find their way in the world), to remind them of all the ways that they are more than what others, or even they, might see.

For example, of my husband, I would say:

You are more than a cook,
You are a purveyor of love through food

You are more than a chauffeur
You are a calmer of fears as your wife faces cancer

You are more than a carpenter
You are a builder of spaces of serenity

Of my son, I would say:

You are more than a lawyer
You are a seeker of fairness and equity

You are more than a feminist
You are a respecter of women and admirer of their strength

You are more than a student of life
You are a critical thinker whose mind is open to others' views

Of my daughter, I would say:

You are more than a professional
You are a problem solver who seeks to help others

You are more than a helper
You are a contributor to the well-being of those around you

You are more than a music lover
You are a maven, a curator and one who shares

I don't often give my readers homework, but today I will. Think of someone who does something for youperhaps fills a role in your lifeand then think about how that thing means so much more to you than they may realize. Maybe they are:

Not just a card sender but someone who reminds others that they are special

Not just a dog owner but someone who shares affection through a puppy

Not just a nurse but someone who gives hope

Not just a poet but someone who reminds others of their humanity

Not just a giver of gifts but someone who celebrates others' achievements

Not just a foster mom but someone who is saving a child's life

Not just a writer but someone who is helping others think in new ways

Not just a sharer of photos but someone who is allowing others to live vicariously through them

Once you've thought about one or a few ways that the person is more than what they seem, find a way to let them know. It could be via email or a card or a conversation.

You are more than. They are more than. We are all more than.