[2021-02-02] Follow-up oncology appointment

I had a follow-up call with Dr. Le at The Ottawa Hospital today. While it was a short call, it left me feeling positive, as all my conversations with him have done. Dr. Le is the oncologist who previously told me that ovarian cancer is increasingly being treated as a chronic disease.

We talked about how I'm doing. No pain or nausea. A positive sense of well-being, with minimal depression and anxiety. Some fatigue and sleepiness, but that's to be expected. Dr. Le mentioned that it could take up to a year post-chemotherapy for me to feel completely back to normal and for my energy level to be what it was before treatment.

He was pleased with the result of my latest CA125 test, which was at 10 (anything less than 35 is considered normal). Given how high my number was before treatment, the CA125 test is a good indicator of the presence of cancer. He will repeat the test every three months. If the number were to begin to double20 next time, 40 the one after thathe would order diagnostic imaging, such as an ultrasound or CT scan, to check for a possible recurrence of cancer.

We talked about the maintenance therapy that I will be starting in a few weeks. I will have blood tests before beginning the drug and every week thereafter. Conveniently, the medication will be delivered to my door, and its cost will be completely covered.

Finally, we talked about my prognosis, as I had been looking at the survival rates for various stages of ovarian cancer. He reassured me that my odds are better than what I would find online, for three reasons. First, my surgerywhich he didwas optimal. Second, I have responded well to chemotherapy, and my BRAC2 gene mutation makes my cancer tumours more responsive to treatment. Third, I am eligible for additional therapy in the form of a maintenance drug.

The conversation reminded me of my layer cake analogy. Back on September 24, in Post-op oncology visit, I introduced the analogy of a layer cake. At that time, I identified the layers as follows:
  1. Layer 1 - good base health
  2. Layer 2 - successful surgery
  3. Layer 3 - chemotherapy—outcome to be determined

Today, I would redefine my layer cake as follows:
  1. Layer 1 - good base health
  2. Layer 2 - successful surgery
  3. Layer 3 - successful chemotherapy
  4. Layer 4 - maintenance drug—outcome to be determined

I continue to be hopeful. My niece frequently reminds me that if there were something to be concerned about, I would hear it. The fact that these appointments are quick and positive, with no bad news, is a good sign. I am grateful for that. One day at a time.