[2021-02-04] Indomitable spirit

In yesterday's post, I shared a story of having come face to face with a chickadee on our walk through the woods. The chickadee landed on a branch just a few feet from me and seemed to be chirping, "Do you have seeds for me?"

In response to that post, a friend sent me some quotes about the little bird, including this one from naturalist Tom Brown Jr.:

We learned to be patient observers like the owl. We learned cleverness from the crow, and courage from the jay.... But above all of them ranked the chickadee because of its indomitable spirit.

My friend wondered whether the chickadee might be my spirit animal.

Today, my husband and I returned to the woods, carrying a bag of sunflower seeds. With my face to the sun and a handful of seeds in my palm, I experienced the joy of having a chickadee alight on my hand. Perhaps a little bit of the chickadee's indomitable spirit transferred to me.

Also today, a friend shared a link to 15 Inspirational Quotes for Every Cancer Survivor. The one I liked best was this one from cancer survivor and speaker Emory Austin:

Some days you won't feel a song inside your heart, but sing anyway.

Like the notion of the chickadee's indomitable spirit, this quote appealed to me. It acknowledges that some days will be hard, but also that we need to keep going, finding beauty in our day and expressing our feelingsgood or bad.

Six months after my diagnosis, I find myself embracing my indomitable spirit and continuing to sing my song.

Cancer is still scary (though less than it was on that day when I first heard the words "You have ovarian cancer"), the road is still long and, no matter the outcome of my treatment, I will probably forever look over my shoulder to see whether Cancer is following me.

Despite that, my message to others on this World Cancer Day is that if you are touched by this formidable diseasedirectly or indirectly—remember that there is still beauty in the world, hope in this life and love all around you.