[2021-02-14] Valentine's Day self-care

In addition to being Valentine's Day, today is day 3 on my new cancer-fighting medication. The nausea I am experiencing is intermittent and manageable. Fatigue is more prevalent. Still, if I had a choice, I'd rather be sleepy than sick.

I went for a masked and physically distanced walk with my niece this morning. It was sunny and warmer today than it has been over the last few days. We walked slowly given my reduced energy, but that felt completely appropriate.

Once home, I had a hearty kale tuna salad for lunch. Fortunately, my taste buds have not been affected by the medication, and my appetite remains good. I hope that continues.

After lunch, I took a nap. One of my best self-care techniques is getting the sleep I need. I have had tremendous success recently with listening to stories. I had not previously been one to listen to books because my mind tends to wander and then I lose the thread of the story. But as a sleep aid, audiobooks are amazing.

When my kids were young, I would occasionally request books on tape (as we called them then) from the Ottawa Public Library. One story that I loved but have never been able to find since was a tale narrated by Blythe Danner in which she says, "Nick, I'm comin' to get you." My kids would listen intently for that line and then giggle when she said it.

I became reacquainted with audiobooks when my employees bought me a one-year subscription to Audible with one credit per month. My first purchase was the full-cast dramatization of The Collected Stories of Winnie-the-Pooh. I listened to all 20 chapters multiple times. No more waking up and ruminating about tests and treatments and the future. Just restart the story from the last point I rememberedor anywhere, really. I ordered a sleep mask with bluetooth headphones built into it so that I could listen to stories at night; the tiny speakers are flat and comfortable, which means that I can wear the mask all night.

My discovery of the soporific effect of audiobooks led to more exploration. I requested and downloaded books from the Ottawa Public Library. My favourite are full-cast dramatizations, which have different actors performing the different roles, along with sound effects. I listened to the BBC versions of Tom's Midnight Garden by Philippa Pearce, The Railway Children by Edith Nesbit and My Family and Other Animals by Gerald Durrell. I also listened to various Dr. Seuss stories but much prefer books narrated by British actors.

Occasionally a story is too riveting and actually keeps me awake because I want to get to the end, as was the case with Tom's Midnight Garden and The Railway Children. However, I usually drift off to sleep readily, even with my most recent Audible purchases: the BBC full-cast dramatizations of Agatha Christie's Poirot's Finest Cases and More of Poirot's Finest Cases.

In addition to Audible and my local library, I have found some tremendous stories on Spotify. (For the record, I have no affiliation with Audible or Spotify; I'm just a maven who likes to share.) Some people have recommended podcasts with stories designed to put listeners to sleep, such as Nothing Much Happens, but they haven't been interesting enough to capture my attention. And listening to nature sounds or spa-like music doesn't keep my mind from wandering.

What has been a tremendous find is The Classic Tales Podcast on Spotify. Narrated entirely by the very versatile B.J. Harrison, the stories capture my attention without waking me up with a harsh sound effect (such as a gunshot in Agatha Christie's Death on the Nile). Harrison plays every part in the story, including the narrator, using a voice (or voices, in truth) that make me drift off to sleep. I quite enjoyed The Inimitable Jeeves by P.G. Wodehouse and The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde, even if it took a while to make it through the entire stories.

These days, my life is largely about self-care. Doing the things that make me feel good physically and/or mentally: walks, good food and drink, naps and sleep. In fact, exercise, nutrition, rest and sleep are the four things we need to re-energize.

On Valentine's Day, we tend to shower others with love: spouses, romantic partners, family and friends. But it never hurts to think about the love we show to ourselves. Take care of yourself and Happy Valentine's Day.