[2021-02-26] A thousand-mile journey

The results of my weekly blood tests continue to show progress, with hopeful improvements from last week. The three indicators I am following most closely are white blood cells, neutrophils and CA125.
  • My white blood cells are at 3.8, up from 3.4 a week ago. This is the first time my white blood cells have been in the normal range (3.5 to 10.5) since September, before my chemotherapy began. Awesome!
  • Similarly, my neutrophils have improved again: they are at 2.6, up from 2.2 a week ago and even further in the normal range of 2.0 to 7.5. Go neuts go!
  • And my CA125 remains at 8. Yay!
As I've said before, I am grateful for technology that allows me to see the results of blood tests even before I have time to return home from those very tests. And I love that I can view my results over time. They're like footprints in the sand that don't get washed away by the waves. I can look back and see all those steps.

It is quite remarkable to think about everything I've been through over the past six months. Many details are etched in my memory.
  • July 29: D daydiscovery, diagnosis and departure point for my cancer journey, CA125=920
  • August 4: wedding day, non-stop rain, flowers, making it official after 30 years, husband Chris, witnesses Shane and Melanie
  • August 6: first day of health leave, launch of Jenesis blog
  • August 14: first oncology visit, treatment plan, forms to authorize surgery plus possible bowel resection or colostomy
  • August 28: surgery, gratitude, no bowel resection or colostomy (the first question I asked when I awoke in the recovery room)
  • September 1: discharge from the hospital, slow drive home, recovery with the support of my caring family
  • September 24: post-op appointment with surgeon, confirmation of ovarian cancer, CA125=862
  • October 1: first chemo, rubber duckies
  • October 22: second chemo
  • October 27: genetic counselling following discovery of the BRCA2 gene mutation in my tumours, blood test, up to 4-month wait for results
  • November 13: third chemo, Helen Reddy ("I am strong, I am invincible, I am woman")
  • December 3: fourth chemo, CA125=19, tears of joy
  • December 24: fifth chemo, Christmas Eve, five down, one to go
  • January 14: sixth chemo, ringing of the bell, CA125=10
  • February 11: CA125=8
  • February 12: start of maintenance therapy medication
As my body adjusts to the new tumour-suppressing drug, the next milestone will be the results of my genetic testing to determine whether the BRCA2 gene mutation is in all my cells. If it is, my risk of developing additional cancers is higher. I feel confident that I will be able to face the next journey, wherever it may take me.

Today's entry in A Year of Positive Thinking quotes Lao Tzu: "A thousand-mile journey begins with a single step." I feel as though I've walked many milesperhaps not a thousand, as my journey with ovarian cancer is not over, and will never be given the nature of the disease, but I've traveled many steps nevertheless.

Author Cyndie Spiegel writes:

Rome wasn't built in a day, and neither is your ideal life.

First you have to begin—exactly where you are.

Then, one step leads to another, which leads to another. Know that sometimes there may be two steps forward and five steps back.

Be patient with yourself. Take your time. Walk slowly. And trust that with each step you are making progress on your "thousand-mile journey," whatever it may be for you.

I feel blessed that my journey has been filled with support, promising results, and way more steps forward than backwards. As I look back at my footprints in the sand, I see not one set of imprints but hundreds, as so many of you have joined me on this journey. You have made an indelible impression on my heart.