[2021-03-26] Blue sky

My mood today matched the heavy, gloomy weather. The enormity of what I'm facing weighed on me.

I slept poorly last night and awoke feeling disheartened. I spent all morning and a good part of the afternoon on the couch. I watched a movie to distract myself from my worries. Then I napped.

I don't often experience sadness, but when I do, I give myself permission to feel what I feel. I know thatin timethe dark cloud hanging over me will move on and the blue sky will appear once again.

When I feel low, I like to turn to The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse by Charlie Mackesya book that fits the definition of a gift that keeps on giving. It consistently helps me to put my challenges in perspective. I took solace in these statements from the book:
  • "Being kind to yourself is one of the greatest kindnesses," said the mole.
  • "Everyone is a bit scared," said the horse. "But we are less scared together."
  • "When the big things feel out of control ... focus on what you love right under your nose."
Even though I've included these excerpts in a previous post, I'm sharing them again because I need to remind myself of this wisdom from time to time.

I also perused my Quotes list to find a bit more inspirationlike a big wind to hurry the dark clouds along. Here are a few that comforted me.

True strength is knowing that you don't have to be strong every single second of the day.
~ Unknown

You can't change yesterday, but you can ruin today by worrying about tomorrow.
~ Unknown

Something's lost but something's gained in living every day.
~ Joni Mitchell

Every situation in life is temporary. So, when life is good, make sure you enjoy it and receive it fully. And when life is not so good, remember that it will not last forever and better days are on their way.
~ Jenni Young

It is in the whole process of meeting and solving problems that life has meaning. Problems are the cutting edge that distinguishes between success and failure. Problems call forth our courage and a wisdom; indeed, they create our courage and our wisdom. It is only because of problems that we grow mentally and spiritually. It is through the pain of confronting and resolving problems that we learn.
~ M. Scott Peck

The sun will come out tomorrow.