[2021-05-16] Ask

I spent another day in bed, having little energy for more than listening to an audiobook with my eyes closed and my head resting on a pillow.

My headache subsided (though didn't disappear completely). My temperature fell slightly to 37.5°C. I had no nausea. But my arm is sore, as are many muscles in my body. My jaw muscles ache, and my teeth are sensitive to even the slightest cold. My nose is plugged up, and my lips are dry. I have a slight cough.

It would be depressing if I didn't know that the discomfort would pass. I have a tendency to remember past pain as less severe than it was, but I swear that my reaction to the COVID vaccine is worse than the aftermath of chemotherapy. It's at least as bad.

Still, I'm lucky to be surrounded by a family who cooks and cares for me, brings me drinks, and does small tasks, such as watering my fledgling garden.

Since getting sick, I've gotten better at asking for what I need. I like this quote from Jack Canfield of Chicken Soup for the Soul fame:

One of life's fundamental truths states, "Ask and you shall receive." As kids we get used to asking for things, but somehow we lose this ability in adulthood. We come up with all sorts of excuses and reasons to avoid any possibility of criticism or rejection.

I've always prided myself on my ability to take care of myself. Now, I take heart in knowing that I have people around me who are as happy to help me as I am to help them. In fact, I'm probably more sympathetic to the pains of others, having experienced such a sustained illness myself.

One of my biggest takeaways from having cancer is how willing people are to lend a hand. All I need to do is ask.