[2021-05-17] Take care of your health

I continued to bounce back today. My temperature returned to normal (36.2°C). My headache disappeared. Most of my body aches subsided over the course of the day. My appetite came back. And my energy was higher.

I'm not yet back to where I was before the second vaccine dose, but I'm getting there. Though I was still too tired to go for a walk today, I'm hopeful to resume my morning ritual tomorrow.

I was lucky to have had enough energy to go to a long-scheduled appointment with my optometrist. It was my two-year follow-up. I had already postponed it once because my original appointment was scheduled to take place in January, when I was still in chemotherapy. Because I didn't want to risk exposure to the coronavirus while still so vulnerable, I delayed the appointment until May. What a difference a few months can make. In the intervening period, I got not just one dose of the COVID vaccine but two. I'm grateful to the global research community for having so quickly developed vaccines for this disease and to all those involved in their approval, distribution and monitoring in Canada.

As I've shared before, I'm trying to be vigilant in following up on all aspects of my health. Beyond cancer treatments, I still need to worry about the rest of my body—including my teeth and my eyes—as well as my mental health. Even though it would be so easy to let some areas of my health slide because I've spent so much time focusing on my cancer, I believe that it's essential to pay attention to all parts of my body and mind.

Lambton Public Health in southern Ontario has a simple list of ways to Take Care of Your Body, which I've annotated with helpful resources, mostly from the Government of Canada:
To this list, I would add:
  • Book physicals with your primary healthcare provider as often as recommended by your province or territory
  • See your dentist and dental hygienist regularly (see Oral health)
  • Attend biannual appointments with your optometrist
  • Follow recommended scheduling for diagnostic testing (such as mammograms)
  • Protect your skin from the sun by wearing appropriate clothing and hats and using sunscreen (see Sun safety)
  • Find ways to relax and recharge (such as meditating, walking in nature or spending time with family and friends)
  • Learn how to protect yourself from ticks, which can cause Lyme disease
  • Follow food safety tips
  • Stay up-to-date on product safety as well as recalls and safety alerts
  • Keep your home safe (see Home safety)
  • Prepare for emergencies (see Emergency preparedness)
The list of things we need to concern ourselves with to stay safe and healthy can feel daunting. Indeed, I can't say that I've mastered all areas of health and safety, even this partial list.

And the pandemic has not made it easier on any of us. Many of us have avoided going to emergency departments and put off routine appointments. Some services, such as elective surgery and diagnostic testing, have been impacted by the pandemic. Still, other aspects of our health, such as nutrition and exercise, are more within our control.

Today's message is a simple one: take care of your health. As has been brought home to me these past few months, health is the foundation of everything in our lives.