[2021-06-03] Lucky 7

While the last few days have been all about breast cancer and how to avoid it, today was once again about ovarian cancer. This morning, I went to The Ottawa Hospital for my monthly blood work. The result I am always most anxious to receive is my CA125 level. This is a measure of an ovarian cancer biomarker in the blood. Anything below 35 is considered normal.

My level has been in the normal range since last December, after surgery and three rounds of chemotherapy, when it hit 19. This was followed by a level of 10 a month later and then a beautiful string of five 8s in a row. While the streak was broken last month, I was thrilled, as my level had dropped to 7. Today, I was prepared for an uptick to 8 or even 9just as long as my level wasn't double the previous month's.

The CA125 result is usually the last of the blood work numbers to come into MyChart. I inhaled as I opened the record and exhaled when I saw another 7. It's like Christmas every time I see a figure like that.

The results of my other blood tests were also encouraging. Of the five results my oncologists track, three of mine are in the normal range: hemoglobin, platelets and creatinine. Two are low: white blood cells and neutrophils. However, my white blood cell count is the same as last month: 2.8 (the normal range is 3.5 to 10.5). And my neutrophil level has actually increased by a point: rising from 1.6 last month to 1.7 this month (the normal range is 2.0 to 7.5). I'm certain that my oncology team will see these results as acceptable, as they are almost identical to last month's results.

I am grateful for all the love I received in response to last night's post, which presented the outcome of my consultation with a breast surgical oncologist about continuing with annual screening or opting for a preventive mastectomy. Many people expressed support for whatever decision I make, noting that there's no wrong choice and acknowledging the challenge of picking from among the alternatives. One person shared her experience with this same choice (and even offered to speak with me) while another told me about a loved one who faced the same options. Among my favourite comments were these ones: "Do what keeps you in the world with us, because that’s what really matters"; "I admire your resolve and commitment to your health and to leaving no stone unturned"; "Whatever your decision, I can’t think of anyone who has done more to understand their health situation and give such serious, well researched and thoughtful consideration to a plan of action."

Describing my research and sharing it with all of you helps me to truly understand what I'm facing. I'm not sure that I would be so well prepared if I weren't trying to explain it to you through this blog.

Again and again, I am reminded that my story echoes experiences that others have faced before me. I'm also encouraged to learn that my writings are helping others to contemplate their own circumstances and even to take action.

All of this makes me feel very lucky.