[2021-06-17] Outdoors

Belgian-American author May Sarton said: "It is never a waste of time to be outdoors, and never a waste of time to rest, even for a few hours."

When I read that quote today, it spoke to me. I felt as though it gave me permission to spend time outdoors or to rest, simply for the sheer pleasure of it. I found it interesting that Sarton put being outdoors and resting in the same sentence. Perhaps she saw the two as synonymous.

The quote also made me think that it's not necessary to have a goal in mind when venturing outdoors. While I usually dowalking, puttering in the garden, hosting a socially distanced visit with a family memberSarton seemed to suggest that just being in nature is a sufficient goal in itself.

As an admitted workaholic, I appreciate statements that I can repeat to myself when I begin to feel restless that I'm not accomplishing enough. Perhaps the next time I need a rest, I'll remind myself that "It is never a waste of time to be outdoors."