[2021-06-18] Recognition

Today, the Deputy Ministers at Health Canada hosted their annual awards ceremony. I was honoured to have been named a recipient of the Deputy Minister's Award for my work as the Assistant Deputy Minister of Communications for Health Canada and the Public Health Agency of Canada during the first half of the pandemic (before leaving my job to deal with ovarian cancer).

I didn't expect this award given how long I have been away from the department. It's so easy to think that we are forgotten when we're on a leave of absence, and to assume that everyone has moved on. Today's award suggests that's not necessarily the case.

I was moved by the words of my Deputy Minister, whom I have known for many years. And I was grateful that he made reference to my recovering from treatment for cancer. Every acknowledgement of my ovarian cancer helps to increase awareness about the disease, which is a good thing.

I was equally touched by the messages I received via text, email and social media following the announcement. I am humbled to have family, friends, colleagues andespeciallyemployees tell me that the award was well-deserved and to hear that they are proud of me and miss me.

One of my ADM colleagues tweeted: "we are so lucky to have you as part of the HC family." That felt especially heartwarming. And another emailed to say how happy she was for me, as did many well-wishers. A Health Canada colleague whom I've connected with through this blog shared that his proudest moment during the ceremony was when he saw that I had won this award. I'm very grateful.

But I didn't act alone. My success over the past few years and particularly during the pandemic is a reflection of the tremendous effort and expertise of the staff of the Communications and Public Affairs Branch, which it has been my pleasure to lead. The branch is full of dedicated individuals who have sacrificed so much over the last 18 months to provide Canadians with information to protect their health. I share my award with all of you and want you to know that I am exceedingly proud of your achievements.

I also share it with my colleagues and bosses, who were incredibly supportive of me during what was the most challenging period in my career. As the Deputy Minister said to all Health Canada employees today, this has been our finest hour.

No matter what level we are, it is gratifying to have our efforts recognized and to know that our contribution has not been forgotten.