[2021-06-19] It's in the giving that I take

The federal Public Service wrapped up National Public Service Week yesterdayan occasion to thank public servants for their work and service to Canadians.

It reminded me of a National Public Service Week event I participated in nine years ago when I attended a breakfast that brought together young professionals and executives. Concerned about the apparent demands on executives' time, one young professional at my table asked, "What's the right balance between giving and taking at work?"

An executive colleague responded: "I've always found that it's in the giving that I take." By this she meant that the more an assignment demanded she give, the more she tookin the form of learning, growth and profile.

I found my colleague's statement profound and true. I shared with the young professionals that the assignment I was on had required me to give tremendous amounts of myself, but that it had also given back to me in many ways. I had learned an extraordinary amount, grown professionally, and gained exposure. I had also earned a promotionsomething I believed I would not have achieved had it not been for the challenge of the assignment.

I added that sometimes we don't see the possibilities for taking when we embark on a mission of giving. I certainly didn't imagine how much writing my blog Café Jen would give back to me. I became a better writer, learned through every post I wrote, became a keener observer of my life, received tremendous feedback, and found valuable resources through recommendations from readers.

Looking back at my Public Service career, I can say unequivocally that I gave a lot. But I also took a lot. Following three years as a student at Veterans Affairs Canada in the summers of '85, '86 and '87, I landed a job at Energy, Mines and Resources Canada in '88 after graduating from university. I was offered a six-week placement through an employment agency and told not to expect more. In fact, I remember telling a coworker that my assignment was for six week's only, to which she said, in her beautiful Scottish accent: "Oh, you'll never leave lass." How prescient she was. My six-week stint stretched to 14 weeks, followed by a one-year term and then indeterminate status. My reputation as a hard worker and someone willing and able to find solutions to problems helped me turn a short gig into more than three decades of full-time employment.

Energy, Mines and Resources evolved into Natural Resources Canada; in my 28 years with that department, I rose from a level two information services officer (IS-02) to a level three executive (EX-03) and worked in six different sectors of the organization. In every job, I had to figure out something new or fix something old, or bothtasks that demanded a lot but also enabled me to grow as a leader.

The final five years of my career have been with Health Canada as a level four executive (EX-04). My role as Assistant Deputy Minister of health communications was, hands down, the most demanding position of my career, but also the most interesting and rewarding. I recall being at the office until 2:00 a.m. the night before the government introduced the bill to legalize and regulate cannabis. We repeated the late-night performance in advance of the coming into force of the legislation. I'm proud of our work to communicate to Canadians on the cannabis legislation and to help prepare the country through public education.

Another highlight was the launch of the new Canada's Food Guide in 2019. My team and I worked closely with our program colleagues to develop the brand for the new Food Guide, which would be an integral part of our efforts to increase Canadians' awareness of the guidance. Every time I see the iconic Canada's Food Guide plate, I remember the work that went into it, but mostly the rewarding feeling of having been part of something so significant and having worked with wonderful staff and colleagues.

The COVID-19 pandemic required a level of giving that I had not seen before in my career. What stands out for me as I think of the eight months I worked on the crisis (before leaving to deal with ovarian cancer) is the tremendous cooperation and dedication I saw in my team. That employees could work unbelievably long hours while remaining respectful and supportive of each other is truly remarkable. Their ingenuity and ability to deliver in days what would normally have taken months will stay with me forever. My biggest takeaway from this period in my career is pridepride in myself for giving all that I could and pride in my team for giving, not just for eight months but for the past 18 months.

Thinking back to that breakfast with young professionals in 2012, I don't know how many of them remembered what my colleague said about the idea that it's in the giving that we take. I certainly did, and I've repeated it many times since then.

Over my long career, I worked with colleagues who gave the minimum and took as much as they could. At times, I felt like I was giving the maximum and taking so little. But as I rose through the ranks and they wondered why they were having challenges getting ahead, I realized that I was often punching above my weight, working at higher levels than my position, which demonstrated my readiness for the next level better than I could have done in any competition.

Our growth comes from all the demanding stuff we do in our jobs and lives: working hard, often against the clock; figuring out how to do something that's never been done before; solving a problem that has festered for years; investing time and energy in our employees when we're feeling pressed; supporting colleagues to help them succeed; working from home while ensuring our kids keep learning; fighting cancer with dignity and a smile. These are the things that help us to develop and to become the best versions of ourselves.