[2021-06-26] Fundraising for Beau’s 5K for Ovarian Cancer Canada

Today, I did something that I haven't done since I was a kid: I signed up for a fundraising event. And I'm turning to you for support.

Next Saturday, July 3, I will participate in the Beau's 5K for Ovarian Cancer Canada, a walk/run to raise money to advance progress on and awareness of ovarian cancer. Funds raised will be used to support women like me who are living with the disease, to provide education and awareness programs to help prevent others from being diagnosed at an advanced stage, and to conduct vital research.

From the event webpage, here is a little history on the annual endeavour:

The Beau’s 5K for Ovarian Cancer Canada is inspired by Vankleek Hill’s Ashley Courtois (Cowan), whose friends and family started this race when Ashley was diagnosed with the disease in 2015. The event started small but grew each year during Ashley’s three-year battle with ovarian cancer. We lost Ashley to her cancer in 2018, but we continue the race in honour of her wonderful strength and spirit, and her love of running. The total money raised by the Beau’s 5K for Ovarian Cancer Canada to-date is more than $205,000.

This is the first time I am asking Jenesis readersfamily members, friends, colleagues, acquaintancesto support me by donating to a cause related to ovarian cancer. My blog is not monetized in any way, which means I do not solicit funds or accept advertising. My daily missives are entirely a gift from me to my readers. I like it that way.

If you have enjoyed my posts, I hope that you will consider supporting me in my fundraising effort. Think of your donation as a way of paying forward a kindness that I or someone else has shown you, or to honour someone you know who has been afflicted by the disease.

July 3 also happens to be three days before my 55th birthday. Your donation would be the best birthday present I could ask for as I hit a significant milestone.

To donate, go to my donation page for the Beau’s 5K for Ovarian Cancer Canada and click on the DONATE NOW button before noon on Saturday, July 3. Donations of any amount are appreciated.

Thank you, in advance, for your support. And, as always, thank you for following my story.

Jen