[2021-06-29] Small acts

Many people have sent me wonderful quotes over the last yearstatements that inspire, amuse or reassure me. A few months back, I compiled my favourites into a compendium of quotes, which I often reread for motivation.

One quote that always makes me smile is this one by artist Salvador Dali:

Every morning upon awakening, I experience a supreme pleasure: that of being Salvador Dali, and I ask myself, wonderstruck, what prodigious thing will he do today, this Salvador Dali.

The statement could be viewed as incredibly conceited or incredibly confident. I choose to see it as reflecting confidence and ambition, with a dash of humour.

I can't say that I'm wonderstruck at being me, but I have increasingly come to realize that I make a difference in the lives of many people. I may not do prodigious things (immense, marvelous undertakings), but I try to do what I do well. I like this quote from self-help author Napoleon Hill:

If you can't do great things, do small things in a great way.

It's easy to underestimate the small things we do each day that can be huge in the eyes of the people for whom we do them. Here are some of my favourites:
  • Listening to a family member talk about their day.
  • Playing with a child.
  • Smiling at a stranger.
  • Thanking a service provider, such as a nurse or teacher.
  • Following through on a commitment to a colleague.
  • Making food for someone else.
  • Inviting an individual to join a group.
  • Asking someone questions to learn more about them.
  • Complimenting another person.
  • Sharing a recipe with a friend.
  • Recommending a book to an avid reader.
  • Creating a Spotify playlist for a music lover.
  • Passing along produce from a garden to a neighbour.
  • Telling a boss how great their employee is.
  • Mentoring a young person.
  • Recording a senior as they reminisce.
  • Asking a client for feedback.
We can do each of these things in a small way or a great way. It's all about the intention and sincerity behind the act.

There's nothing wrong with aiming big and attempting to do things on a grand scale, but we shouldn't underestimate the impact of small acts done with love.