[2021-07-14] Scenic roads

Years ago, when my husband, children and I were on our way home from a visit to Chris' hometown of Saguenay, Quebec, we took a detour by Tadoussac. En route to Quebec City, we pulled off the highway (one of the kids probably needed to pee) and found ourselves in a charming and picturesque village. It reminded me of a setting for an Agatha Christie murder mystery in the English countryside. I was captivated.

I thought about that quaint village today when I came across this quote by author and poet Angela N. Blount: "Sometimes the most scenic roads in life are the detours you didn't mean to take."

We had not meant to veer from the highway and yet doing so allowed us to catch a glimpse of a delightful hamlet.

In a similar vein, when I was diagnosed with ovarian cancer, I initially thought that dealing with the disease was a temporary detour in my life. Unsure of where this new path would lead, I nevertheless committed to the journey.

Where it led me was to a quieter existence than that of my previous life, notwithstanding all the medical appointments, procedures and treatments. I now had time to walk, reflect, cook healthy foods, connect with loved ones, and write daily posts for this blogall of which have been integral to my recovery.

Looking back at how far I've come in the past year, I can confirm that it has felt like being on a scenic road. Beautiful, eye-opening, life-affirming even with a few bumps in the road and surprises along the way.