[2021-07-15] Re-energizing

I've always had an invincibility complex, thinking that my body can deliver on whatever I push it to do. While in active treatment for ovarian cancer, I tempered my tendency to always be busy. But as I've been recovering, I've started to revert back to my old habits of frequently being on the go.

This morning, for instance, I took two calls of about an hour each and walked during both. I ended the day with more than 17,000 steps, almost 12 kilometres covered and 185 active zone minutes. It's amazing how quickly the steps add up when we're lost in a satisfying conversation.

In addition to all the walking today, I did a bit of gardening, developed a template for my estate information document, helped my husband with supper, and did the dishes with my daughter.

By the time I sat down at my computer to reflect on my day, the thought that came to mind was this: "I'm tired." I felt like I needed a good sleep.

Perhaps somewhat surprisingly, I wasn't tired mentally. I was still feeling emotionally energized from my morning calls.

The first was with a former colleague who was looking for career advice. I like listening to people describe where they are in their careers and what they'd like to change.

I also like asking questions, a skill I honed in Journalism School. I asked my friend my two favourite questions: "What do you love to do?" and "What are you good at?" When we can do work that matches what we love to do and what we're good at, we are much more likely to be happy and to succeed.

I find that the answers to these questions are always so varied. In my friend's case, he said that he loves to write, enjoys bringing people together, and is good at diplomacy. Those are valuable qualities to have.

Our discussion left him with a lot to think about: Does he want to move to a higher level in the executive cadre? Is an ideal job one that demands a lot or one that leaves him free time to pursue other passions outside work? What type of executive position would most call on him to use his writing skills?

As often happens during such conversations, my former colleague didn't reach any specific conclusions, but he did develop a better sense of the questions he needs to ponder and the people he should speak to. I advocated that he do more informational interviews, similar to our call today.

My second chat this morning was with a woman who works at Ovarian Cancer Canada. She became aware of me and my blog through my participation in the Beau's 5K for Ovarian Cancer Canada.

I shared why I started the blog (principally to stay connected with my employees and to update my friends and family in one fell swoop), what I get out of it (many things but most importantly a way to connect with numerous people, including others who have walked a similar path), the value of building awareness about ovarian cancer (my friend noted the limited funding for ovarian cancer research) and how I stay positive (cancer is just one part of my life and Jenesis gives me the freedom to discuss my many interests).

As we concluded our conversation, the woman from Ovarian Cancer Canada thanked me for an inspiring and uplifting chat. I felt the same way.

Similarly, as I wrap up this post, I'm feeling better physically. Perhaps the act of sitting quietly and reflecting can be energizing in itself.