[2021-07-27] A true leader

As I continue to receive congratulations on my decision to retire, I am impressed by the wisdom in many of the comments that well-wishers have sent to me. A favourite from today included this statement: "A true leader doesn't require a position to lead from."

I was struck by these sage words. I spent the vast majority of my Public Service career leading people. And though I was in various managerial positions for more than three decades, I always tried to lead through influence more than through authority. Influence is the power to bring about changes without directly forcing them to happen, while authority is the power to effect changes by making decisions, giving orders and directing subordinates.

Now, as I officially step out of my position as assistant deputy minister, I will have only influence with which to lead. And that's OK. I don't need a position from which to lead orfor that matterto inspire, motivate, validate and uplift.

Nor does anyone else. We all have the power to positively impact others.

How to influence others

Here are some of the ways I've influenced others both in my career and through my writing:
  • Build relationships. It's easier to move to action if you have a prior relationship with someone. Spending time with others builds trust.
  • Learn people's names. One of the first steps in building a relationship is learning someone's name. Find out what they like to be called, learn how to spell and pronounce their name correctly, and use it often, in both written and spoken communication.
  • Create psychological safety. People feel safe when they believe that the other person has their best interests at heart. Show that you want the best for others and you will create psychological safety.
  • Be enthusiastic. If you have a vision or an idea about how to improve things, show your enthusiasm. Excitement begets excitement.
  • Listen. When people feel heard, they are more likely to accept a course of action, even if it's contrary to their preference, as long as they believe that their concerns were taken into consideration.
  • Respond. Engagement is a two-way street. When someone reaches out to you, reply.
  • Reach out. The flip side of responding is reaching out. Talk to people at every level; your greatest influence will come when you reach out to people at the lowest levels in the organization. They will never forget you.
  • Be authentic. Acknowledge your weaknesses and the things you're working on; this will convince others that they don't need to be perfect either.
  • Celebrate others. Recognize the achievements of others, particularly their contributions to the objective you're trying to realize.
  • Be respectful. In addition to being kind and polite, being respectful means valuing different views, including ones that differ from your own.
  • Be inclusive. Make room for everyone to contribute to the team. Find ways to invite everyone to provide their views, which often means giving people multiple ways to offer their input.
  • Share your stories. Storytelling is one of the best ways to transfer knowledge. Stories are captivating and their lessons are easily remembered.
  • Leave others feeling better about themselves than before you encountered them. This is one of my favourite tips. Notice others. Compliment them. Ask them a question. File their answers in your mental Rolodex.
None of these actions require a position from which to lead.

You, too, can inspire, motivate, validate and uplift. Your sphere of influence may be small when you start: your family, your coworkers, your social media followers. But it will grow over time.

As my friend wrote to me today, you can influence others through your presence and your service.