[2021-08-13] Mysteries you do not yet understand

My husband and I bought a one-year membership to the National Gallery of Canada a few weeks ago, and, since then, we've gone three times. Each time, we've visited the special Rembrandt exhibit, and each time, I've seen something new.

Today, I noticed this quote, attributed to Rembrandt, on the wall above one of the artist's many self-portraits: "Paint what you already know, and in time you will discover the mysteries you do not yet understand."

I was struck by how easily that idea could be applied to other creative pursuits. For example, write what you already know, and in time you will discover the mysteries you do not yet understand.

Reflecting on the quote, I thought about my experience with ovarian cancer and writing about it in this blog. When I was first diagnosed, I knew nothing about the disease. I was frightened and sad.

The days immediately after a cancer diagnosis are the scariest, as I wrote to a friend this morning who is dealing with cancer in his partner's family. The patient often knows little about the illness they're facing. Depending on the type of cancer they have, the patient may get little comfort from doctors who, in those early days, may not know the extent of the cancer and may be reluctant to offer what might be false hope. And the patient may be dealing with the fear of family members and friends, who are understandably concerned about their loved one.

But, more often than not, things do get better. I read yesterday in a document my cancer coach sent to me that "60% of Canadians diagnosed with cancer will survive at least 5 years after diagnosis." While that is not an iron-clad guarantee and is an average across all cancer types, it's better odds than some might think.

For my part, once I got past the initial shock and the challenge of telling relatives, friends and colleagues, I began to discover―as Rembrandt said―mysteries that I did not understand in those early days.

Over the past year, I've learned about cancer in general and the treatment of ovarian cancer in particular. I've learned about hereditary genes that can increase one's risk of cancer. And I've learned that it's possible to have good days―many good days, in fact―while undergoing therapy.

Returning to Rembrandt's quote, any form of self-expression or exploration offers an opportunity to learn and discover: cooking, gardening, reading, traveling, songwriting, drawing, crafting, hiking, beekeeping, baking, dancing, blogging. Do what you do and, in the process, discover mysteries that you do not yet understand.