[2021-08-26] As easy as breathing

Melanie and I took a walk after supper. On one of the streets that's part of my route, I started talking to a couple who were about to view a house that had just come on the market. They asked me if I lived in the neighbourhood. I said no, but mentioned that I often see a woman in that community who I assumed was the property manager and found that she was very engaged in the condominium project.

As Mel and I continued down the street, we bumped into the woman of whom I had just spoken. I said, "I was just singing your praises to the couple looking at the house up the street," I told her. She was flattered. As we chatted, I learned that she is the president of the condominium board. And she does seem very engaged. One day, I saw her digging in a flower bed alongside a contractor.

When Mel and I resumed our walk, we talked about how little effort it takes to compliment someone and how positive an impact a kind word can have. Mel suggested that complimenting another person is "as easy as breathing."

I loved that expression.

Praising others is like any habit. The more you do it, the easier it becomes.