[2021-08-29] Be decisive and move on

I once spent 15 minutes in a grocery store dithering over Quaker One-Minute Oats. "Are these the same as quick oats?" I wondered. I kept looking at the box for the small print that would say, "Yes, Jennifer, these are the same as quick oats" or "No, Jennifer, these are not the same as quick oats." But I couldn't find such a statement.

So I tried to look it up on my phone, which only led to further frustration. The Quaker Oats website—which was not mobile friendly—seemed more interested in plugging its processed products (such as instant oatmeal with chocolate chips) than in giving basic information about its traditional mainstays. Quaker One-Minute Oats didn't even appear on its list of products.

I would reflect on this incident a few days later when my son shared with me an article entitled Time-Saving Tips: Find 7 More Hours in a Day. I was unconvinced by the promise of saving seven hours a day, and skeptical that I'd learn anything new. As Shane listed the various tips, I mentally ticked off all the things I was already doing. That was until he hit tip #5: Be Decisive and Move On. I immediately recalled those 15 minutes that I had wasted in the cereal aisle.

Over time, I got better at making decisions, particularly when I became an assistant deputy minister. As the head of health communications for the Government of Canada, I made countless decisions every day, mostly about whether communications products were ready to move up the approvals chain.

I still had moments of hesitation. For instance, sometimes I would stand in front of my closet in the morning, debating what to wear. Then I'd grab an outfit and tell myself, "This will do. At least I won't be naked."

But, for the most part, I've picked a lane and stuck with it, including in decisions related to my health.

For me, the hardest decisions are ones that involve choices that affect others. These can be as simple as recommending a place to eat; I often worry that my suggested place won't be to the liking of my companions.

The reality is that many decisions have pretty minor consequences, such as discovering that one-minute oats is not a suitable substitute for quick oats, picking a work ensemble that isn't ideal, or disappointing a dining partner.

On the big decisions, it's worth doing our homework, considering the options and making an informed choice. But on the myriad little decisions we make every day, it pays to be decisive and move on.