[2021-09-02] Whole heart

As I was writing last night's post about Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month, I couldn't help stumbling upon survival statistics for people with the disease. I avoid looking at these numbers. Andas you may have noticedI avoid sharing them in my blog. It's easy to lose hope when looking at such data.

When I awoke this morning, I was still feeling the effects of having seen those stats yesterday. But I got up and got on with my day, telling myself: "Do not die while you are yet alive." This quotepassed along to me by a fellow cancer survivorreminds me to not dwell on my potential demise while I am still strong and vibrant.

And a few hours later, I had reason to maintain hope. I had my monthly blood test today. For the fifth month in a row, my CA125 is at 7, and for the tenth month in a row, it has been in the normal range (below 35). Whenever I see that 7 come up on MyChart, I breathe a sigh of relief. While the tortoise beat the hare by being slow and steady, perhaps I can beat cancer by being low and steady.

I was planning to conclude tonight's post by sharing a quote from author Marjorie Pay Hinckley, who said: "The trick is to enjoy life. Don’t wish away your days, waiting for better ones ahead." In my case, I would say, "The trick is to enjoy life. Don't waste away your days, anticipating worse ones ahead."

But as I was confirming the details of that quote, I came upon one that was even more compelling. In her book Small and Simple Things, Hinckley wrote:

Think about your particular assignment at this time in your life. It may be to get an education, it may be to rear children, it may be to be a grandparent, it may be to care for and relieve the suffering of someone you love, it may be to do a job in the most excellent way possible, it may be to support someone who has a difficult assignment of their own. Our assignments are varied and they change from time to time. Don't take them lightly. Give them your full heart and energy. Do them with enthusiasm. Do whatever you have to do this week with your whole heart and soul. To do less than this will leave you with an empty feeling.

How true that our assignments change over time. Being an advocate for ovarian cancer is different from any assignment I've had in the past. I don't take that role lightly. I do pour my heart and energy into it, sharing my storyboth the ups and the downs.

Whatever you are doing this week, this month, this year, do it with your whole heart.