[2021-09-03] Wear Teal Day

I don't often report on my monthly calls with one of the gynecologic oncologists at The Ottawa Hospital since I've usually already shared the results of my blood work with you. However, today I will, as I received some encouraging news from my doctor.

Dr. Faught informed me that I will now be moving to follow-up calls every three months, rather than every month. Based on my CA125 and blood work, he said I'm doing very well. In fact, he described my progress as a best case scenario. That was wonderful to hear, even more so coming on Wear Teal Day.

Last October, Dr. Faught told me that the BRCA2 gene change had been found in my tumours. At that time, he had said that having that gene change was good news overall. When I reminded him of this today, he explained that the maintenance drug I takeolaparib, which is marketed under the brand name Lynparzawas specifically designed for and tested on women who are BRCA positive. It would appear to be working very well for me.

Dr. Faught indicated that my monthly blood work would continue and that I could contact the Cancer Centre if I had concerns between now and the next check-in.

This represents one more step toward life beyond cancer. As they say, difficult roads can lead to beautiful destinations. I feel that I have arrived in a magnificent place after a long, uncertain journey.